2015’s top 10 #1

  • “The Winner’s Crime” by M. Rutkoski

Screenshot 2015-03-02 01.53.59The Winner’s Crime is the sequel to The Winner’s Curse. Before I go on about how wonderful the second book was, let me say that I mildly liked The Winner’s Curse but didn’t feel very emotionally involved. Paradoxically, my reasons for loving The Winner’s Crime seem to be entirely emotional. The writing is absolutely magnificent, the characters are awfully smart (we have here an intelligent, resilient female protagonist, whom I might love to death), the story is tense from beginning to end, and I don’t think I have ever been this stressed out about a fictional couple’s miscommunication before (and that is saying something, because I have read a lot of those). And finally, what I loved so much about this book, is a complex, captivating political intrigue. That is how high fantasy is done! Politics and doomed romances, well-written, smart characters with good intentions, trying to fight for what they believe, sometimes finding that what they believe might not be worth fighting for… I fell under the charm. This book whisked me away into a fascinating, outlandish world, and really, this is what I expect from fantasy.

“There was dishonor, she decided, in accepting someone else’s idea of honor without question.”

Leave a Reply

