2015’s Top 10 #10

For this end of year, I resolved to write a Top 10, and as it turns out, this year, most of my favorite books have been published in the same year. Thus, I will be revealing a favorite of mine, out of this year’s published books, every day until January 3rd.

  • BOOK #10 : “Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda” by B. Albertalli

Published April 7th

SimonVStHSA

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is a heartwarming, funny book about a chapter of the life of Simon, young gay teenager who happens to not be completely out of the closet. That poses a problem, when someone in Simon’s school stumbles on his e-mails in which all of Simon’s internal struggles have been laid down. If this type of writing, and even this type of story has been seen before, the book is nonetheless refreshing, broaching LGBT and racial subjects, something I slowly came to expect from Young Adult literature. This is why I loved Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, that and its pop culture references that left me grinning from beginning to end.

 

“But I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.”

Leave a Reply

