My Favorite Literary Couples, Part 1 : F/M

It’s no secret that I enjoy reading romances. Which means that I have read my fair share of those, and consequently, find myself harder and harder to please in this particular field of Young Adult/New Adult literature. There are some couples that say with me, though, and I’d like to share them with you, in no particular order…

In a first post, I’ll only talk about Female/Male couples, or else this post would be waaaay too long…

Capture d’écran 2015-08-03 à 18.20.17

  • Lily Calloway & Loren Hale from the Addicted series by K. and B. Ritchie

“I love you, but I want to love you enough that I never choose alcohol over you. Not even for a moment. I want to be someone you deserve.”

(Be warned, for a big part of the couples I will present to you are from the Ritchie twins, who write New Adult romances.)

Lily is a sex addict. Loren is an alcoholic. They have always been best friends, each other’s everything, growing up together, discovering their addiction and helping each other conceal them from their families. In Addicted To You, they slowly realize that these addictions are destroying them both slowly, and that their love might not be enough…

I would read anything about those two. After following them through their hardships in the Addicted series, seeing them evolve so much, my heart is full of love for these two incredibly strong characters, their undying love for each other, Lily’s ‘quirkiness’, Loren’s intensity… No one writes better NA romances than the Ritchie twins, mark my words.

  • Penryn Young & Raffe from the Penryn & the End of Days series by S. Ee

“It is not the gentle kiss of a couple on a first date, nor is it the kiss of a man driven by simple lust. He kisses me with the desperation of a dying man who believes the magic of eternal life is in this kiss.”

In this YA fantasy trilogy, the angels have come down on Earth and are wreaking havoc everywhere they went. Penryn is a 17-year-old girl trying to survive with her handicapped little sister and her schizophrenic mother. When the angels take her sister, she is forced to ask for the help of an outcast angel named Raffe.

How can I explain this couple? They are both witty, strong, independent, hella good in a fight… You never get bored with them. I enjoyed every single moment they shared with each other in the series.

  • Lola Nolan & Cricket Bell from Lola and the Boy Next Door by S. Perkins

“So do you believe in second chances?” I bite my lip.
“Second, third, fourth. Whatever it takes. However long it takes. If the person is right,” he adds.
“If the person is… Lola?”
This time, he holds my gaze. “Only if the other person is Cricket.”

In this spin-off of Anna and the French Kiss, you discover the story of Lola, and excentric 17-year-old girl lacking some confidence and Cricket, the awkward genius she always had a crush on, who’s back in the house next door. Their story is one thing : adorable. Cricket is my ultimate YA crush, and Lola was awfully relatable.

  • Daisy Calloway & Ryke Meadows from the Calloway Sisters and Addicted series by K. and B. Ritchie

“She’s the sun. I’m the dark.
If she’s gone, I can kiss that fucking light away.
Without her, I know I’ll never see it again.”

It’s hard to express how much these two mean to me. They are both incredibly reckless, selfless, smart… and beautiful, yes, well, this is NA literature. Daisy is a 18-year-old model, youngest of the four Calloway sisters, constantly longing for intense sensations, Ryke is before anything else a brother who puts his loved ones’ needs before his own. He’s 26, you are warned that there is an age gap between the two, but no statutory rape or anything of the sort (Ryke is a guy with morals). The two wild souls develop a powerful bond during the Addicted series, and their story is made even more complex in the Calloway Sisters series.

  • William Herondale & Tessa Gray from The Infernal Devices series by C. Clare

“You are not the last dream of my soul.
You are the first dream, the only dream I ever was unable to stop myself from dreaming. You are the first dream of my soul, and from that dream I hope will come all other dreams, a lifetime’s worth.”

Ah, the reader couple. Tessa is a young curious Downworlder, Will is a tortured Shadowhunter-teen, both are passionate about literature, and that’s a good enough reason for them to be important to me… They’re both part of a love triangle, that’s something you should know, and they’re not each others’ only love (and it’s such a beautiful thing).

  • Blue Sargent & Richard Gansey III from The Raven Cycle series by M. Stiefvater

“I wish you could be kissed, Jane,’ he said. ‘Because I would beg just one off you. Under all this.’ He flailed an arm toward the stars.”

Ouch, this couple hurts. Blue Sargent is a weird-looking independent daughter of psychics, Richard Gansey is this rich perfect-looking boy, whose destiny is to find the lost Welsh king, Glendower, and die that same year. Oh, and, if Blue kisses her true love, they’ll die. It’s impossible to explain any character from The Raven Cycle so shortly, but I’ll tell you that : their story is tragically beautiful, and I love both as individual characters, very strongly.

  • Rose Calloway & Connor Cobalt from the Calloway Sisters and Addicted series by K. and B. Ritchie

“There are rare people who will fuel the fire inside of you, who will awaken a dormant passion, who will push you and better you. She alone is my rarity.”

Rose is a fierce, independent and clever woman, labeled publicly as a 22-year-old virgin. Connor is a narcissist, ambitious and clever… Their love is fire, powerful and so intense. Even if I wasn’t too enthusiastic when reading their first book, Kiss The Sky, I can tell you that Fuel The Fire will make you love them more than you thought was possible.

  • Chaol Westfall & Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by S. J. Maas

“With each day he felt the barriers melting. He let them melt. Because of her genuine laugh, because he caught her one afternoon sleeping with her face in the middle of a book, because he knew that she would win.”

Chaol is the fiercely loyal Captain of the Guard, and Celaena is the kingdom’s most skillful (and coquette) assassin. They start off strongly disliking each other, and you and I both know that’s the recipe for good OTPs. Their love is intense, there’s a slow-burning process, it felt very real, and made me infinitely sad.

  • Cecily Herondale & Gabriel Lightwood from The Infernal Devices series by C. Clare

“We are not our parents, Gabriel. We do not have to carry the burden of their choices or their sins.”

Gabriel is an arrogant Shadowhunter-teenage kid, really, and Cecily is a fiercely determined Shadowhunter. She puts him back in his place when needed, and I fear I can’t say much about this couple because we see very little of them during the series. They’re both fierce, smart and loving, and I love them for it.

Leave a Reply

