5 Favorite Books Read in Spring 2015

Spring, or during the months of March, April and May.

  • “The Winner’s Crime” by M. Rutskoski (1)

The winner's crime cover

The Winner’s Crime is the second book in The Winner’s Trilogy, and I can’t possibly express how much I loved it. It was perfect, and most definitely one of my favorite fantasy books of all time : the prose is magnificent, the story is agonizingly angst-y and the world development fascinated me. After giving a rating of 6.5 out of 10 only to The Winner’s Curse, this one came as a beautiful surprise, and I cannot recommend it enough.

  • “Fuel The Fire” by K. and B. Ritchie (2)

Fuel The Fire cover

Somehow, every time the Ritchie twins come up with a new book, it ends up in my favorites list. This book follows Connor and Rose after the events of Addicted After All, and it is even better than the Ritchies’ previous books, with endearing characters (strong brotherly and sisterly bonds, YES, please), amazing dialogues, and twists you don’t see coming. If you want to get into New Adult… I lost count of how many times I recommended to read the Addicted series on this blog, quite honestly.

  • “The Song of Achilles” by M. Miller (3)

the song of achilles cover

Here’s one book that put me to tears. The Song of Achilles is about Patroclus’s life, before and during the war of Troy, and his romantic relationship with Achilles. The prose was beautiful, the romance was to die for, and I simply loved the way Madeline Miller portrayed the characters we know from The Iliad.

  • “End of Days” by S. Ee (4)

end of days cover

End of Days was, to me, the perfect conclusion to the Penryn and the end of days trilogy. It was witty, kick-ass, funny, with incredible dialogues and characters. It’s not the classical dystopia : it’s a lot more absurd, a lot more on the funny side. Which is exactly what I liked about the first book, and this series as a whole.

  • “Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda” by B. Albertalli (5)

Simon VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Ah, finally, a funny LGBT‘s YA book! With diverse characters! I loved this. It was funny, felt very real, and was incredibly cute. By the end of the book I was grinning so much my cheeks hurt, and I don’t know how or when the grin got there, but I couldn’t get it off my face. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

