“The Dream Thieves” by Maggie Stiefvater

the dream thieves cover

“All of us have secrets in our lives. We’re keepers or keptfrom, players or played. Secrets and cockroaches — that’s what will be left at the end of it all.”

The Dream Thieves is the sequel in The Raven Cycle series. This books is more focused on Ronan, dreamer boy.

The Dream Thieves is the second book in The Raven Cycle series; if you have not read The Raven Boys yet, my review on the first book is here.

This review can contain spoilers of the first book /!\

In this second book, the focus is more on Ronan and the Lynch family, and less on Gansey, Blue or Adam. Although we keep reading Blue, Gansey or Adam’s point of views. In the end of book 1, Ronan revealed that he retrieved Chainsaw from his dreams. And so in book 2, we discover that Ronan has the ability to take objects from his dreams and make them reality. Ronan is someone very quiet, secretive, that expresses himself physically rather than by talking. He hardly ever says anything but he doesn’t lie. In this sequel, we also follow Adam as he struggles with the consequences of the sacrifice he did at the end of the previous book. We see Noah a bit more, but I still can’t say we really know him. He’s always in the background.

I really loved this book, perhaps a bit more than the last one because of certain points that are improved : the relationships and characters are developed, and the writing style is still flawless and so magical. And I so approve the presence of the antagonists’ point of views.

We get to know more about Ronan and the Lynch family, which I was curious about in the first book. Ronan has two brothers: Declan, who we saw fighting with Ronan in the first book, and Matthew, the sweet boy, last of the three Lynch brothers.

“I know you think you’re a punk,” Declan said. “But you aren’t nearly as bad ass as you think you are.”
“Oh, go to hell,” Ronan snapped, just as the alter boys broached the rear doors.
“Guys,” Matthew pleaded. “Be holy.”

Since his father’s death, his mother doesn’t talk : he’s practically an orphan. I loved Ronan in the first book, but not the same way I do now. We didn’t know him but he was funny, mysterious, daring and I liked all this about him. “Being in his head” changed the way I see him. I have never read about a character like that before. I’ll admit in the beginning, I thought that the book being mostly about him would bother me : as I said, he is very quiet, doesn’t express his feelings a lot and likes to play with danger. But I’ve come to like him through the book. His love for the other boys is touching, and I love his bluntness honesty and altruism, which nobody expects from him.

“His eyes were frighteningly alive, the curve of his mouth savage and pleased. It suddenly didn’t seem at all surprising that he should be able to pull things from his dreams.”

We also get to know the “new” Adam better. Adam is changing.His crazy want for independence and the stress caused by his sacrifice are getting to him and driving him away from the other boys, especially Gansey. I felt like I understood their friendship in the first book, but I feel it becoming weaker and weaker; they don’t understand each other but they still care for each other a lot.

“If Adam was stupid about his pride, Gansey was stupid about Adam.”

In the first book, I felt a lot of compassion and understanding for Adam. I feel that less and less, but I don’t hate him (yet). Though I am very annoyed with his way of understanding things sometimes, and the way he pities himself all the damn time.

“What do you want, Adam?
To feel awake when my eyes are open.”
Sometimes Ronan thought Adam was so used to the right way being painful that he doubted any path that didn’t come with agony.

There are two new characters in this book : Kavinsky and the Gray Man. Both can be considered as antagonists. They were so interesting, I loved both characters. Again, Maggie has surprised me by writing about appealing, unique and scary characters. Kavinsky and Ronan’s relationship is scary and so very interesting. Being in the Gray Man’s head was frightening. He is unpredictable and both new characters are very hard to trust. This is definitely a change from my usual reads. A good change.

The Gray Man is this frightening hitman, so I had a hard time considering as an actual human being in the beginning of the book. This is how I was startled when he started being part of a romance. Only Maggie Stiefvater writes romance between psychics and hitmans, only Maggie.

Kavinsky is everything Ronan fears he is. Reckless, daring, absolutely undeniably crazy, he doesn’t seem to care about anything… I loved reading about him. He made me laugh and he kind of scared me some times because of how unpredictible he is. His relationship with Ronan was incredibly well written, I’m in awe (again) with Maggie’s writing skills.

I cannot not tell you about Blue and Gansey’s relationship development. I love them even more, and Maggie made their romance so very subtle and slow. It’s very touching, and I need more, more, more. (Oh and… Watch out for the not-kisses.)

If you liked the first book,
you will not be disappointed with the second.
It’s still as magical as the first one, the characters are even more interesting, and Maggie’s sense of humor, along with her unique characters, is very enjoyable.

Rating : 18/20

Leave a Reply

